Starting on May 25, 2018, you’ll be able to close your OPTe.NETWORK account. Please check this page then for more information. In the meantime, if you are finished with your OPTe.NETWORK account and would like to shut it down, you can follow the steps outlined below to deactivate it.

Empty and Delete Your Sites

You can empty your sites of all content and then delete them by following these guides:

Please be aware that this is irreversible so if you want to keep a personal copy of your site contents you should export it before emptying and deleting it.

If you have any trouble emptying or deleting your sites, our support team would be happy to assist you. You can reach out to us from https://support.opte.network/help/ .

Remove Your Personal Information

By editing your Profile you can remove all personally identifying data except the account username and email address: https://opte.network/wp-admin/profile.php

If you want your email address disconnected from the account the easiest way to do so is to:

  1. Create a throwaway email address from an online email service provider
  2. Change the user email to that throwaway address.

Note that because we don’t want other people to have your username in the future, it is not possible to delete a OPTe.NETWORK username.

Disable Your Gravatar

If you configured your Gravatar profile when you signed up, you can remove profile information through the My Profile page.

You can also remove any Gravatar profile pictures you added, plus all email addresses except your primary account email, from:

https://en.gravatar.com/emails/

If you choose, you can hide your Gravatar profile from external access. To do so:

  1. Click the My Profile link in the top menu bar
  2. Click the “View Profile” link immediately under your name in the right sidebar
  3. Click the “Hide Profile” button

Unsubscribe from Email Notifications

To unsubscribe from any email notifications from OPTe.NETWORK, go to our unsubscribe form and enter your user account email address and click unsubscribe.

Change Your Username

Although we do not allow for the deletion of usernames, it is possible to create a different username. You can find instructions for how to do this in our User Role support page.

Change Your Password

When you have finished scrubbing your account you can prevent all further access to it by updating the password to a random string of 15 to 20 characters. Passwords can be changed from https://opte.network/wp-admin/profile.php; you can use “Secure password generator” to make sure it’s a secure and random password that’s unknown to anyone.